Merry-Go-Round Part 1

Apologies for my absence. I’ve been on a revision/travel/revision/bronchitis/revision merry-go-round. I’m sure you don’t want to know about the bronchitis, so let’s talk about travel, eh?

I flew to the US on business in July. When I arrived at LAX Customs, the immigration officer asked me the usual questions about what business I was conducting in the US, etc. I managed to work in the title of my book, This is Your Afterlife, during our conversation. He looked very puzzled and said, “What?” “It’s This is Your Afterlife. Sir.” “What?” “This is Your AHHHfterlife.” He still didn’t get it. So then I affected an American accent and said, “This is your AIRRRterrrlife.” And then he understood! We had a good ol’ laugh and he then let me into the country.

 A few days later, my CP Kim MacCarron picked me up from Dulles Airport and spirited me away to her home in Virginia to meet her gorgeous family. Then we rushed over state lines to meet our other CP Pintip Dunn at a fabulous seafood noshery called BlackSalt. Seven courses. Divine. Pintip insisted I stay with her family even though she had only recently given birth, for goodness sake. So lovely to spend time some one-on-one time with her because we knew she wouldn’t be able to join us later in San Antonio for the RWA conference.

In New York, I saw Neil Patrick Harris in Hedwig and the Angry Inch. Brilliant. Got my hair did at the Drybar in Murray Hill — highly recommend this salon for travellers or anyone else who hates blow-drying their hair in 100F weather. They do only blow-dries (or blow-outs), and my stylist wrangled my thick hair very well. Later, I met my editor, Meredith Rich, for the first time. She took me and my agent, Beth, to lunch and showed us the drafts for my debut book’s cover. It was such a surreal moment I nearly cried into my fries. Needless to say, I’m thrilled about the artwork so far and can’t wait to share the final cover with the world!

Speaking of covers, my fellow Bloomsbury Spark author Theresa DaLayne revealed hers while I was on the dizzying bronchitis phase of the merry-go-round. I LOVE this cover. The Edge of You is a New Adult romance set in Alaska and you can get your hands on it September 25. I’m really looking forward to reading this one! 

That’s it for now. I’ll tell you all about my exciting San Antonio stop in the next merry-go-round post!

Leave a Reply

