Paranormal Party Guest – Sara Hantz

Welcome, welcome to Day…um, how many days has my This Is Your Afterlife launch party been going on? Ah, yes, four days so far! It seems to me that paranormal activity wreaked havoc with comments on my old blog, so I’ve moved back here to the safety of WordPress.

ghost_14

Joining me today is my super-smart* friend Sara Hantz. Sara is a multi-published Entangled author. She has a Labrador as a companion — not this Labrador, though:

tumblr_mvxkc30LVK1s02vreo1_400-1

 

Sara doesn’t actually know this, but I credit her for helping me finish my first book waaaaay back in 2004. We were members of Romance Writers of Australia’s email loop. I whined about not being able to get past, oh, Chapter One, in my manuscripts. Sara responded by telling me about the Snowflake Method. It was like being inducted into a secret society for plotters. I stopped flailing around and completed my first (terrible) novel. Fast-forward 10 years, I’ve lost track of the number of books I’ve finished, and Sara still listens to my constant whining. But she also forces me to work hard and keeps track of my progress in a fabled ‘tick’ spreadsheet. Sara was the first person to read This Is Your Afterlife. Please give her a very warm welcome!

sara

Sara’s website | Twitter | Facebook

(*My New Year’s resolution will be to axe the alliteration.)


Sara Hantz

I’m very excited to be here celebrating the launch of Vanessa’s book, THIS IS YOUR AFTERLIFE, which is amazing and I’m recommending to everyone. As the theme for Vanessa’s party is paranormal I thought I’d write about superstitions.

black-catMost of us are superstitious to varying degrees and we are all familiar with superstitions like: don’t walk under a ladder; if a black cat walks in front of you it’s lucky; if you spill salt throw some over your left shoulder (or is it right shoulder? I’m never certain so throw it over both to make sure). But what about the more bizarre superstitions? There are some real doozies out there. I’ll give you a few examples.

Don’t eat salad if you want to have children.

Yes, it’s true. In the 19th century, men believed it could make them sterile.  So if you’re out with a guy and he leaves lettuce on the side of his plate……..

Or what about: look out for a goat when you’re heading to an important meeting? It’s been thought that goats can absorb evil or bad luck, so go via the fields and hope you stumble across a goat when you’re heading to a job interview. Just make sure to avoid the poo as it’s not a good look with stilettos.

 

There are also superstitions relating to defying age. Everyone wants to stay looking young, right? Well, don’t bother with all those expensive skin creams, just keep an acorn in your pocket. Now they tell me!!

acornFinally, if you want to have good luck all year long, then eat 12 grapes at midnight on December 31st. That’s one I don’t mind following!  If only there was a superstition relating to chocolate and negative calories………

Anyway, thanks so much for inviting me to your book launch party, Vanessa. I know THIS IS YOUR AFTERLIFE is going to be a huge success.

– Sara


Giveaways!

There are two separate prizes to win!

1. Click HERE to enter my Rafflecopter giveaway. You could win a Kindle copy of This Is Your Afterlife and a $50 Amazon e-card.

2. What’s the weirdest superstition you’ve ever heard? Leave a comment below for a chance to win digital editions of Sara’s The Second Virginity of Suzy Green and Will the Real Abi Saunders Please Stand Up? 

Thanks for joining Sara and me today, partygoers! I’d love to see you again tomorrow — the delightful but easily spooked Erica O’Rourke will be with us.

~ Vanessa

74aae-1413794620504

17 thoughts on “Paranormal Party Guest – Sara Hantz

  1. Thanks for inviting me to be part of your party, Vanessa. I LOVE this book and know everyone else will. I can’t believe that a) we’ve known each other for so long; and b) I helped you finish your first book….. gotta love the snowflake…… 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Well, Sara, a huge THANK YOU for everything you’ve done for me — and you’ve done a lot! While snowflakes melt eventually (except if you’re at the North or South Pole), our friendship has lasted an age. Love having you here with me today!

      Like

  2. Oh, and Sara, those superstitions are seriously out there. But, hmm, maybe the anti-ageing acorn is worth a shot!

    You know, I do wonder how many people have actually had seven years’ bad luck after breaking a mirror. Or whether stepping on a crack has actually broken some poor mother’s back!

    Like

  3. Sara, those are some pretty crazy superstitions! The weird superstitions I know are the ones parents told kids in my culture to get them to behave. If you clear your plate of rice, your significant other will have a beautiful face, or if you hit someone, in your afterlife, your hands will be a hundred times the size of your body. Thanks for a fun post!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh, wow, Pintip, those superstitions are new to me! The afterlife one is especially appropriate for this launch! 😉

      My mother has so many weird superstitions. I swear she made some of them up. She says if you see a crow in the morning, it means someone’s going to die by afternoon (or something like that). Cheerful, huh?

      Thanks for swinging by!

      Like

  4. Vanessa, you had me so curious about the Snowflake Method! I read the article you linked to, and wow! Do you really do all that before you start writing? That’s pretty impressive!

    Like

    1. Happy 13th birthday, Kaitlin! That must’ve been a super-lucky day, then! Friday the 13th is lucky for me, too. But I say that because nothing unlucky has ever happened to me on that date — knock on wood!!!

      Thanks so much for visiting us today! 🙂

      Like

  5. I will be keeping an acorn in my pocket from this day forth. 🙂 What a fun Paranormal Party Post. I love hearing about superstitions. I’ve never known which shoulder you throw the salt over, so I, too, throw it over both. haha.
    My kids heard a superstition about how you have to hold your breath when you pass a graveyard so the souls of the departed don’t somehow enter you. It’s funny because sometimes there are traffic lights. I have to decide whether to run the light so my kids don’t pass out from holding their breath or stop. As there is one BIG cemetery on the way to soccer practice, I have to deal with this four days out of the week.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Kim, if I go trick or treating this year, I’m collecting acorns, not candy!

      That’s so funny about you and the stop lights near the cemetery! I hadn’t heard that superstition before, but I’m definitely going to hold my breath next time I pass a cemetery. I’m not taking any chances!

      Thanks for stopping by!

      Like

Leave a Reply

