Paranormal Party Guest – Elizabeth Langston

Thank you for joining us during my launch week-and-a-bit! Right up until Halloween, I’m celebrating the release of my debut paranormal YA, This Is Your Afterlife, with some special friends. Today, another multiple Golden Heart/multipublished YA author friend joins the party. Please welcome Elizabeth Langston!

tumblr_n1so49mHwz1trmkp7o1_500

Elizabeth is the author of a wonderfully intriguing and emotive time-slip series which started with Whisper Falls (Spencer Hill Press). Like me, she once worked at a cinema selling popcorn. (I’d love to know if she loves popcorn as much as I still do!) Her next book, I Wishis out on November 18. She lives in North Carolina and has traveled all over the globe. Come back to visit me in Australia again soon, Elizabeth!

We can all visit Elizabeth at of these exotic places now:

Facebook Twitter | Website


Elizabeth Langston

I met Vanessa when we both finaled in the YA category of the Golden Heart (a contest for unpublished authors of romance fiction.) When I learned that she lived in Australia—which just happened to be my next vacation stop—I was thrilled. She graciously agreed to hang out with me and my two exhausting, exuberant teen daughters. We spent a great afternoon laughing, talking, and walking about the beautiful city of Sydney.

When I heard about This is Your Afterlife, I couldn’t wait to get my hands on a copy. And when Vanessa asked me to join her in the Paranormal Party, I couldn’t say YES fast enough.

My first brush with something paranormal came through my great-grandmother. Her name was Ada, and she had an identical twin sister, Ida. They were incredibly in tune with each other and had this weird ability to read the other’s mind. I thought that was cool, but Great-Gran assured me that it was a burden as well.

There was one day, late in her life, when Great-Gran and I were sitting in her kitchen, drinking tea and eating pie. She suddenly gasped and jumped to her feet, her whole body shaking.

Me: What’s wrong?

GG: Something terrible has happened to Ida.

Me: How do you know that?

GG: I know.

The phone rang.

GG: Answer, please.

I did. It was the hospital calling. Ida had just collapsed and died. I met Great-Gran’s gaze, but I didn’t need to say anything. She already knew.

I remembered this conversation while writing my next release, I Wish. The hero is a “genie” with supernatural powers (although he tries to act as much like a human as possible.)  My genie can read minds, but he rarely does. “It raises privacy issues.”

– Elizabeth


Oh, a genie with a good moral compass. I love him already, Elizabeth. Thank you so much for sharing your poignant story!

Giveaway!

There are two prizes up for grabs today:

1. Enter my Rafflecopter HERE for your chance to nab your very own Kindle copy of This Is Your Afterlife plus a $50 Amazon e-gift card!

2. Questions… If you could read minds, would you? If you could read the thoughts of only one person, who would it be? One commenter will receive their choice of e-book or paper copy of I Wish.

Thanks for being here today, partygoers! We’d love to see you again tomorrow to meet four-time Golden Heart finalist Kim MacCarron!

~ Vanessa

9dd48-1413783941085

 

12 thoughts on “Paranormal Party Guest – Elizabeth Langston

  1. Elizabeth, it’s so wonderful to have you here. I have such great memories of our day in Sydney together. Although, now that I know you are allergic to chocolate, I won’t try to drag you to another chocolate cafe next time you visit! In a weird coincidence, my heroine in This Is Your Afterlife also has an allergy to chocolate.

    What an amazing connection your great-grandmother and her twin had. At the same time, it must have been heartbreaking for her when she felt the death of her sister. My mother always says she can sense when I’m upset — I kind of wish she didn’t have that ability because I hate to make her worry!

    I would actually like to read my cat’s mind. There seems to be an awful lot going on inside that furry head!

    Thanks again for celebrating with me! So looking forward to reading I WISH!

    Like

  2. I’m so excited about Beth’s new release and am already devouring Vanessa’s!!! I feel so fortunate to have met both of you through the 2009 Golden Heart contest and am SO excited to be celebrating a double book birthday!!!! 🙂

    Beth – what a moving story about your great-grandmother. That’s such an amazing connection and proof that there is so much more to our world than we can ever begin to grasp.

    Addison

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks so much, Addison! The Rubies are such a special group. I feel lucky to have met you and Beth through the Golden Heart, too.

      Isn’t that an incredible story about Ada and Ida? Losing a sibling would be painful enough, but I think the pain must be even more acute for twins.

      Like

  3. Elizabeth, what an amazing story about your great-Grandmother! I’ve heard so many similar stories about twins — I’m so curious about why and how this happens. I Wish sounds like such a great story, and Vanessa speaks so highly of your writing — I’m looking forward to reading it!

    I don’t think I would like to read minds, actually. Some thoughts are best kept to the person, and in the end, it is the actions that count, not a fleeting thought.

    Congrats once again, Vanessa! I don’t think I will ever get tired of congratulating you. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Pintip, definitely add Beth’s books to your TBR pile. You’ll love her writing and characters!

      The bond between twins is endlessly fascinating to me. When I was younger I always wished I had a twin. (I was under the influence of Sweet Valley High books. :))

      You make a good point about reading minds. It would be kinda intrusive. If I could read minds, I’d want the ability to switch that gift on and off at will.

      Wow, I don’t think I’ll ever tire of hearing that, Pintip! Seriously, I’m really thrilled to have your support and I’m so excited about your 2015 release!!!! I’ll be texting “congratulations” to you every hour. Just warning you in advance…

      Like

  4. Thanks for hosting me today, Vanessa. My girls loved that chocolate shop, so that was fine. (Allergy to chocolate is a blessing in disguise.)

    And the photo collage you included is great![[Waves to Pintip and Addison]]

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Vanessa, I look forward to reading your book. I am working on my Master’s Degree in Transpersonal Theories at Atlantic University. One of my favorite classes was Parapsychology, so that makes your book an especially interesting potential read for me. Elizabeth, as always, I look forward to your books. It is a privilege to know you, and I cherish our friendship.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Katy, that parapsychology class sounds fascinating. I hope you get the chance to read and enjoy This Is Your Afterlife. Good luck with your master’s! I was about to embark on my master of arts this year, but I got a little waylaid.

      I agree with you — it’s such a privilege to know Elizabeth! Thank you so much for stopping by. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

