‘Tis the Season to Make New Goals!

NewsletterJan2015I was going to say my New Year’s resolution is to not make any resolutions, but…I thought better of it. What’s the harm in publicly setting a goal, eh? #famouslastwords

So my resolution for 2015 is to write at least 250 words a day, and work up to 2,015 words a day. They don’t have to be perfect words, but that’s okay. (Oooh, I think I could turn those two sentences into a song…)

No lame excuses like:

  • It’s too hot
  • It’s too cold
  • I’m too tired
  • I don’t feel inspired enough
  • My cats are sleeping on my keyboard
  • My cats want to play
  • My house is too messy
  • My house is too clean
  • I don’t have enough snacks
  • Et cetera, et cetera…

Sadly, I really have used every one of those excuses in the past! But I do think setting an easy target is the key. 250 words a day is not a lofty goal. Once I achieve that word count, it’ll fill me with warm, fuzzy feelings and inspire me to extend my writing session. Right? Right???

Do you make and keep New Year resolutions? What’s your advice for goal-setting? How do you celebrate when you reach your goals?

dogsoccer

 

2 thoughts on “‘Tis the Season to Make New Goals!

  1. I made several new year’s resolutions each year….some of them I keep and others I do not….making several and keeping some still makes me feel like a winner.

    Like

  2. Happy New Year, Sheila! I’ve done the same thing in the past — made a raft of resolutions, stuck to one or, but left others by the wayside. I think it’s totally okay to reassess goals as the year goes on and not beat yourself up too much.

    Like

Leave a Reply

