Willy Wonky Bounty Bars

Two of my lovely workmates are celebrating birthdays tomorrow. Seeing as my chocolate bark Christmas present was such a smashing success, I thought I’d make them another gift from the heart. I found Not Enough Cinnamon’s easy recipe for homemade Bounty Bars, those little pods of coconut draped in chocolate. Yum! Three ingredients, an hour of prep time — what could go wrong?

Well, here at the Barneveld Chocolate Factory, something went terribly wrong, as usual. The bars taste great. Very sweet. I deviated slightly from the recipe and used light condensed milk plus a blend of 70% Lindt and creamy milk Lindt chocolate. As for the aesthetics… Yikes. To my eye, they resemble something rather unsavoury.

IMG_6310

What do you think? Too wonky? Have you ever made a gift that didn’t quite turn out as it should have?

 

Leave a Reply

